1.0 Build 369

News and Announcements about GreatNews

Moderators: justauser, MysteryFCM

User avatar
Jack
Site Admin
Posts: 3472
Joined: Fri Feb 18, 2005 12:05 am

1.0 Build 369

Postby Jack » Sun May 07, 2006 9:28 pm

Ver 1.0 (Build 369) released on 5/7/2006
=========================================
+Added: Drag/Drop feed subscription from IE, FireFox and GreatNews reading pane. (Thanks Carl for his excellent classes!)
+Added: Feed->Work Offline
+Added: Feed->Mark Page as Read(CTRL+M) (Thanks Gizmo)
+Added: RSS feed detection now detects feed titles
+Updated: Deutsch language pack (Thanks Jan Peters)
+Updated: Traditional Chinese language pack (Thanks Nelson)
+Updated: Spanish language pack (Thanks Maty)
-Fixed: Global Search displayed wrong message if no item was found. (Thanks leem)

http://www.curiostudio.com/nightly0

User avatar
wormeyman
Posts: 32
Joined: Thu Aug 25, 2005 5:05 pm
Location: Somewhere starting browser wars.
Contact:

Re: 1.0 Build 369

Postby wormeyman » Mon May 08, 2006 12:01 am

GreatNews wrote:+Added: Drag/Drop feed subscription from IE, FireFox and GreatNews


Woot although i use livelines for firefox http://heygom.com/extensions/archives/livelines-045/
MY default browser is no long IE look below one link to see why.
http://www.mozilla.org/products/firefox/why/
http://spy.wormeyman.com/ My spyware resource center.
http://www.wormeyman.com My website

Alexander
Posts: 115
Joined: Tue May 31, 2005 8:01 am

Re: 1.0 Build 369

Postby Alexander » Mon May 08, 2006 5:14 am

GreatNews wrote:+Added: Feed->Work Offline

Haven't tried it yet, but if it does what I think it does, you totally made my day ;)

orchid
Posts: 28
Joined: Fri Feb 17, 2006 3:47 am

Postby orchid » Mon May 08, 2006 7:02 am

Can you give us a timeframe for fixing the bug which causes items to repeat when non-standard characters occur in the title please?

This is the biggest annoyance of GN right now for me; I'm spending way too much time navigating feeds which are showing new items that aren't new.

Every time I see a new version release, I hope this is the one where it will be fixed, but so far no joy :-(

mkizer
Posts: 35
Joined: Tue Jul 19, 2005 6:04 pm
Location: San Diego, CA

Postby mkizer » Mon May 08, 2006 10:55 am

Mark page as read is a nice addition. Thanks!

User avatar
Jack
Site Admin
Posts: 3472
Joined: Fri Feb 18, 2005 12:05 am

Postby Jack » Mon May 08, 2006 6:32 pm

orchid wrote:Can you give us a timeframe for fixing the bug which causes items to repeat when non-standard characters occur in the title please?

This is the biggest annoyance of GN right now for me; I'm spending way too much time navigating feeds which are showing new items that aren't new.

Every time I see a new version release, I hope this is the one where it will be fixed, but so far no joy :-(


Please check your PM.

User avatar
wormeyman
Posts: 32
Joined: Thu Aug 25, 2005 5:05 pm
Location: Somewhere starting browser wars.
Contact:

Postby wormeyman » Tue May 09, 2006 12:58 am

mkizer wrote:Mark page as read is a nice addition. Thanks!


call me dumb but how is thiss different than the previous mark as read is it just not mark all as read?
MY default browser is no long IE look below one link to see why.

http://www.mozilla.org/products/firefox/why/

http://spy.wormeyman.com/ My spyware resource center.

http://www.wormeyman.com My website

User avatar
Jack
Site Admin
Posts: 3472
Joined: Fri Feb 18, 2005 12:05 am

Postby Jack » Tue May 09, 2006 5:49 am

wormeyman wrote:call me dumb but how is thiss different than the previous mark as read is it just not mark all as read?


"Mark as read" will mark the whole feed/group read.

mkizer
Posts: 35
Joined: Tue Jul 19, 2005 6:04 pm
Location: San Diego, CA

Postby mkizer » Tue May 09, 2006 3:10 pm

I'll expand on how the "mark page as read" is beneficial (at least for me). I have a group of feeds called "News" that contains maybe 30 feeds. The way I generally read my feeds is by clicking on the group and reading all of the feeds (newspaper style) within the browser pane. This usually results in multiple pages in the browser pane, which I navigate with the spacebar (or scroll wheel). Say I finish reading the first of 7 pages, but need to run to a meeting, I can "mark the page as read" which only marks posts on that first page of the browser pane (instead of "mark all as read" which would mark every feed in the entire group). Now I can either close GN or just come back to it later and still hav emy 6 remaining unread pages in the News group.

User avatar
Gizmo
Posts: 46
Joined: Fri Dec 23, 2005 3:27 am
Location: Italy
Contact:

Re: 1.0 Build 369

Postby Gizmo » Wed May 10, 2006 2:11 am

GreatNews wrote:+Added: Feed->Mark Page as Read(CTRL+M) (Thanks Gizmo)


Cool, but I think this feature would be way more useful if it were a read/unread switch and not just a "mark read" thingie.

Just my two cents, btw.

NicoTrad
Posts: 2
Joined: Thu May 11, 2006 5:53 pm

Postby NicoTrad » Thu May 11, 2006 6:30 pm

HI,

Here translation in French.
Thank JacK for previous version.

http://www.chez.com/zigzag/gn_fr_v1.0.369.zip

:arrow: Corrected (12/05/2006 16:14): http://www.chez.com/zigzag/gn_fr_v1.0.369_1.rar :wink:

User avatar
Jack
Site Admin
Posts: 3472
Joined: Fri Feb 18, 2005 12:05 am

Postby Jack » Sun May 14, 2006 2:06 pm

Thanks NicoTrad. I seem to have problem downloading it? The error msg says:

Le site demandé n'est pas accessible par cette url.

Le webmaster du site n'a pas nommé correctement sa page d'accueil.

NicoTrad
Posts: 2
Joined: Thu May 11, 2006 5:53 pm

Postby NicoTrad » Sun May 14, 2006 2:22 pm

Translate French Corrected (14/05/2006 18:44)
http://le.bout.du.monde.free.fr/gn_fr_1.0.0.369.2.rar

:arrow: Update 15/05/2006 05:00
http://le.bout.du.monde.free.fr/gn_fr_1.0.0.369.3.rar
Last edited by NicoTrad on Sun May 14, 2006 9:58 pm, edited 1 time in total.

User avatar
Jack
Site Admin
Posts: 3472
Joined: Fri Feb 18, 2005 12:05 am

Postby Jack » Sun May 14, 2006 2:54 pm

Got it. Thank you!

User avatar
wormeyman
Posts: 32
Joined: Thu Aug 25, 2005 5:05 pm
Location: Somewhere starting browser wars.
Contact:

Postby wormeyman » Sat May 20, 2006 8:14 pm

greatnews doesn't seem to work with the newest firefox alpha?

http://www.mozilla.org/projects/bonecho ... 2.0a1.html

when you click on a feed then select greatnews, greatnews shows up but doesn't subscribe to the feed.
MY default browser is no long IE look below one link to see why.

http://www.mozilla.org/products/firefox/why/

http://spy.wormeyman.com/ My spyware resource center.

http://www.wormeyman.com My website


Return to “News & Announcements”

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 0 guests