Curio Studio

The Home of GreatNews
It is currently Sat Nov 01, 2014 2:25 am

All times are UTC - 5 hours




Post new topic This topic is locked, you cannot edit posts or make further replies.  [ 17 posts ]  Go to page 1, 2  Next
Author Message
 Post subject: 1.0 Build 369
PostPosted: Sun May 07, 2006 9:28 pm 
Offline
Site Admin
User avatar

Joined: Fri Feb 18, 2005 12:05 am
Posts: 3470
Ver 1.0 (Build 369) released on 5/7/2006
=========================================
+Added: Drag/Drop feed subscription from IE, FireFox and GreatNews reading pane. (Thanks Carl for his excellent classes!)
+Added: Feed->Work Offline
+Added: Feed->Mark Page as Read(CTRL+M) (Thanks Gizmo)
+Added: RSS feed detection now detects feed titles
+Updated: Deutsch language pack (Thanks Jan Peters)
+Updated: Traditional Chinese language pack (Thanks Nelson)
+Updated: Spanish language pack (Thanks Maty)
-Fixed: Global Search displayed wrong message if no item was found. (Thanks leem)

http://www.curiostudio.com/nightly0


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: 1.0 Build 369
PostPosted: Mon May 08, 2006 12:01 am 
Offline
User avatar

Joined: Thu Aug 25, 2005 5:05 pm
Posts: 32
Location: Somewhere starting browser wars.
GreatNews wrote:
+Added: Drag/Drop feed subscription from IE, FireFox and GreatNews


Woot although i use livelines for firefox http://heygom.com/extensions/archives/livelines-045/

_________________
MY default browser is no long IE look below one link to see why.
http://www.mozilla.org/products/firefox/why/
http://spy.wormeyman.com/ My spyware resource center.
http://www.wormeyman.com My website


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: 1.0 Build 369
PostPosted: Mon May 08, 2006 5:14 am 
Offline

Joined: Tue May 31, 2005 8:01 am
Posts: 115
GreatNews wrote:
+Added: Feed->Work Offline

Haven't tried it yet, but if it does what I think it does, you totally made my day ;)


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Mon May 08, 2006 7:02 am 
Offline

Joined: Fri Feb 17, 2006 3:47 am
Posts: 28
Can you give us a timeframe for fixing the bug which causes items to repeat when non-standard characters occur in the title please?

This is the biggest annoyance of GN right now for me; I'm spending way too much time navigating feeds which are showing new items that aren't new.

Every time I see a new version release, I hope this is the one where it will be fixed, but so far no joy :-(


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Mon May 08, 2006 10:55 am 
Offline

Joined: Tue Jul 19, 2005 6:04 pm
Posts: 35
Location: San Diego, CA
Mark page as read is a nice addition. Thanks!

_________________
~Michael Kizer
http://Michael.Kizer.ws


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Mon May 08, 2006 6:32 pm 
Offline
Site Admin
User avatar

Joined: Fri Feb 18, 2005 12:05 am
Posts: 3470
orchid wrote:
Can you give us a timeframe for fixing the bug which causes items to repeat when non-standard characters occur in the title please?

This is the biggest annoyance of GN right now for me; I'm spending way too much time navigating feeds which are showing new items that aren't new.

Every time I see a new version release, I hope this is the one where it will be fixed, but so far no joy :-(


Please check your PM.


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Tue May 09, 2006 12:58 am 
Offline
User avatar

Joined: Thu Aug 25, 2005 5:05 pm
Posts: 32
Location: Somewhere starting browser wars.
mkizer wrote:
Mark page as read is a nice addition. Thanks!


call me dumb but how is thiss different than the previous mark as read is it just not mark all as read?

_________________
MY default browser is no long IE look below one link to see why.
http://www.mozilla.org/products/firefox/why/
http://spy.wormeyman.com/ My spyware resource center.
http://www.wormeyman.com My website


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Tue May 09, 2006 5:49 am 
Offline
Site Admin
User avatar

Joined: Fri Feb 18, 2005 12:05 am
Posts: 3470
wormeyman wrote:
call me dumb but how is thiss different than the previous mark as read is it just not mark all as read?


"Mark as read" will mark the whole feed/group read.


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Tue May 09, 2006 3:10 pm 
Offline

Joined: Tue Jul 19, 2005 6:04 pm
Posts: 35
Location: San Diego, CA
I'll expand on how the "mark page as read" is beneficial (at least for me). I have a group of feeds called "News" that contains maybe 30 feeds. The way I generally read my feeds is by clicking on the group and reading all of the feeds (newspaper style) within the browser pane. This usually results in multiple pages in the browser pane, which I navigate with the spacebar (or scroll wheel). Say I finish reading the first of 7 pages, but need to run to a meeting, I can "mark the page as read" which only marks posts on that first page of the browser pane (instead of "mark all as read" which would mark every feed in the entire group). Now I can either close GN or just come back to it later and still hav emy 6 remaining unread pages in the News group.

_________________
~Michael Kizer
http://Michael.Kizer.ws


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: 1.0 Build 369
PostPosted: Wed May 10, 2006 2:11 am 
Offline
User avatar

Joined: Fri Dec 23, 2005 3:27 am
Posts: 46
Location: Italy
GreatNews wrote:
+Added: Feed->Mark Page as Read(CTRL+M) (Thanks Gizmo)


Cool, but I think this feature would be way more useful if it were a read/unread switch and not just a "mark read" thingie.

Just my two cents, btw.


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Thu May 11, 2006 6:30 pm 
Offline

Joined: Thu May 11, 2006 5:53 pm
Posts: 2
HI,

Here translation in French.
Thank JacK for previous version.

http://www.chez.com/zigzag/gn_fr_v1.0.369.zip

:arrow: Corrected (12/05/2006 16:14): http://www.chez.com/zigzag/gn_fr_v1.0.369_1.rar :wink:


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Sun May 14, 2006 2:06 pm 
Offline
Site Admin
User avatar

Joined: Fri Feb 18, 2005 12:05 am
Posts: 3470
Thanks NicoTrad. I seem to have problem downloading it? The error msg says:

Le site demandé n'est pas accessible par cette url.

Le webmaster du site n'a pas nommé correctement sa page d'accueil.


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Sun May 14, 2006 2:22 pm 
Offline

Joined: Thu May 11, 2006 5:53 pm
Posts: 2
Translate French Corrected (14/05/2006 18:44)
http://le.bout.du.monde.free.fr/gn_fr_1.0.0.369.2.rar

:arrow: Update 15/05/2006 05:00
http://le.bout.du.monde.free.fr/gn_fr_1.0.0.369.3.rar


Last edited by NicoTrad on Sun May 14, 2006 9:58 pm, edited 1 time in total.

Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Sun May 14, 2006 2:54 pm 
Offline
Site Admin
User avatar

Joined: Fri Feb 18, 2005 12:05 am
Posts: 3470
Got it. Thank you!


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Sat May 20, 2006 8:14 pm 
Offline
User avatar

Joined: Thu Aug 25, 2005 5:05 pm
Posts: 32
Location: Somewhere starting browser wars.
greatnews doesn't seem to work with the newest firefox alpha?

http://www.mozilla.org/projects/bonecho ... 2.0a1.html

when you click on a feed then select greatnews, greatnews shows up but doesn't subscribe to the feed.

_________________
MY default browser is no long IE look below one link to see why.
http://www.mozilla.org/products/firefox/why/
http://spy.wormeyman.com/ My spyware resource center.
http://www.wormeyman.com My website


Top
 Profile  
 
Display posts from previous:  Sort by  
Post new topic This topic is locked, you cannot edit posts or make further replies.  [ 17 posts ]  Go to page 1, 2  Next

All times are UTC - 5 hours


Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 1 guest


You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot post attachments in this forum

Search for:
Jump to:  
Powered by phpBB® Forum Software © phpBB Group