Can I run two instances of GreatNews?

Everything else

Moderators: justauser, MysteryFCM

RogerGW
Posts: 5
Joined: Fri Sep 22, 2006 1:55 pm
Contact:

Can I run two instances of GreatNews?

Postby RogerGW » Sun Nov 16, 2008 7:25 am

I travel a lot, in rural areas, and rely on 3G connection for Internet access. This is sometimes slow, so updating my GreatNews feeds can take a long time.

Can I lighten the load by reducing the number of feeds updated at any time? Perhaps I could create two instances of GreatNews, one with business feeds and the other with general topics.

If not, I'd be grateful for other suggestions.

TIA,

Roger
Using version 1.0.0.383 on Win XP Pro SP2
Roger Whitehead

MysteryFCM
Posts: 143
Joined: Tue Feb 21, 2006 1:56 pm
Location: Tyneside, UK
Contact:

Re: Can I run two instances of GreatNews?

Postby MysteryFCM » Sun Nov 16, 2008 4:05 pm

You could do this by having two copies of GreatNews, for example;

C:\GreatNews\Personal
C:\GreatNews\Business

Each of these would contain the contents of the GreatNews.zip file (saves using the installer)

As an addendum, the latest release is .384, so I'd recommend you upgrade aswell :)

viewtopic.php?f=2&t=2637
Regards
Steven Burn
I.T. Mate / hpHosts
it-mate.co.uk / hosts-file.net

RogerGW
Posts: 5
Joined: Fri Sep 22, 2006 1:55 pm
Contact:

Re: Can I run two instances of GreatNews?

Postby RogerGW » Sun Nov 16, 2008 4:31 pm

Many thanks, Steven. I'll give it a go.

[Half an hour later] Works a treat!

Regards,

Roger
Last edited by RogerGW on Sun Nov 16, 2008 5:03 pm, edited 1 time in total.
Roger Whitehead

MysteryFCM
Posts: 143
Joined: Tue Feb 21, 2006 1:56 pm
Location: Tyneside, UK
Contact:

Re: Can I run two instances of GreatNews?

Postby MysteryFCM » Sun Nov 16, 2008 4:51 pm

Feed > Work Offline ;)
Regards
Steven Burn
I.T. Mate / hpHosts
it-mate.co.uk / hosts-file.net

RogerGW
Posts: 5
Joined: Fri Sep 22, 2006 1:55 pm
Contact:

Re: Can I run two instances of GreatNews?

Postby RogerGW » Sun Nov 16, 2008 5:05 pm

Ah! You beat me to it. 8-)

Thanks, again.

Roger
Roger Whitehead

MysteryFCM
Posts: 143
Joined: Tue Feb 21, 2006 1:56 pm
Location: Tyneside, UK
Contact:

Re: Can I run two instances of GreatNews?

Postby MysteryFCM » Sun Nov 16, 2008 5:45 pm

hehe no problem :)
Regards
Steven Burn
I.T. Mate / hpHosts
it-mate.co.uk / hosts-file.net


Return to “General”

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 2 guests