Can I connect to a host that requires Port 1198 ?

Everything else

Moderators: justauser, MysteryFCM

222fbj
Posts: 1
Joined: Tue Jan 23, 2007 10:48 am

Can I connect to a host that requires Port 1198 ?

Postby 222fbj » Mon Oct 15, 2007 1:26 am

I'm trying to view a newsgroup on terabyteunlimited.com.
They say.... Simply connect your favorite newsreader to port 1198 at terabyteunlimited.com then subscribe to public.announce and any other groups that interest you.

How can I do this in Greatnews? - I dont see a 'Port' option in Feed properties... or am I missing something?

They provide instructions for using Outlook Express...
http://www.terabyteunlimited.com/oehelp.html

Thanks

MysteryFCM
Posts: 143
Joined: Tue Feb 21, 2006 1:56 pm
Location: Tyneside, UK
Contact:

Postby MysteryFCM » Tue Oct 16, 2007 1:49 pm

There's a proxy server option for the entire program, but nothing at present, for individual feeds .....
Regards
Steven Burn
I.T. Mate / hpHosts
it-mate.co.uk / hosts-file.net

User avatar
Jack
Site Admin
Posts: 3472
Joined: Fri Feb 18, 2005 12:05 am

Postby Jack » Tue Oct 16, 2007 5:23 pm

You can use port# in url directly. eg:

http://server.com:1234/feed.xml


Return to “General”

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 4 guests