RE: Internet Settings

Everything else

Moderators: justauser, MysteryFCM

georgecoffey5
Posts: 4
Joined: Tue May 02, 2006 9:30 am

RE: Internet Settings

Postby georgecoffey5 » Tue May 02, 2006 10:17 am

I have been using GreatNews for a copuple of months now, and I must say I enjoy using it. However I can't seem to get GreatNews to work on my laptop at all. It won't detect any internet connection. I use Firefox 1.5. In my college it works perfectly. They use Internet Explorer 6.0 I have the setting Use Interent Explorer's setting.

User avatar
Jack
Site Admin
Posts: 3472
Joined: Fri Feb 18, 2005 12:05 am

Postby Jack » Wed May 03, 2006 7:28 am

do you have windows built-in firewall enabled, or personal firewall like Zone Alarm?

georgecoffey5
Posts: 4
Joined: Tue May 02, 2006 9:30 am

Postby georgecoffey5 » Wed May 03, 2006 4:26 pm

Yes, I have ZoneAlarm. However, GreatNews does not even ask for any permission. GreatNews doesn't even try and download the RSS.

MysteryFCM
Posts: 143
Joined: Tue Feb 21, 2006 1:56 pm
Location: Tyneside, UK
Contact:

Postby MysteryFCM » Thu May 04, 2006 6:31 am

Have you tried manually creating a rule?
Regards
Steven Burn
I.T. Mate / hpHosts
it-mate.co.uk / hosts-file.net

User avatar
Jack
Site Admin
Posts: 3472
Joined: Fri Feb 18, 2005 12:05 am

Postby Jack » Thu May 04, 2006 7:17 am

It seems GreatNews cannot detect internet connection. Can you try to type a url in GreatNews addressbar, see if it can reach?

georgecoffey5
Posts: 4
Joined: Tue May 02, 2006 9:30 am

RE: Worked

Postby georgecoffey5 » Sat May 13, 2006 4:26 pm

It seems to have worked, as I had an Internet Explorer window opened. I then close IE and checked for my RSS and it still worked.

Thanks for your time. I'll contact this forum if I need to.

User avatar
Jack
Site Admin
Posts: 3472
Joined: Fri Feb 18, 2005 12:05 am

Postby Jack » Sun May 14, 2006 1:58 pm

Thanks for letting me konw.


Return to “General”

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 3 guests