feed ur reader doesnt like FX 1.5?

Ideas? Suggestions?

Or report any bugs about GreatNews here

Moderators: justauser, MysteryFCM

Guest

feed ur reader doesnt like FX 1.5?

Postby Guest » Fri Nov 04, 2005 1:41 am

hi,since i just upgraded to firefox 1.5Rc1, i got problem when i see a Livebookmark icon in address bar,usualy when i click that button the greatnews should jump out as default rss reader,but now it does not work!

hav u got the same problem ?
cheers 4 any help!

User avatar
Jack
Site Admin
Posts: 3472
Joined: Fri Feb 18, 2005 12:05 am

Postby Jack » Fri Nov 04, 2005 6:44 am

FireFox live bookmark does not use standard feed:// protocol. There's a plug-in for FireFox 1.0x that can do this conversion. But I'm not sure if it's compatible with FireFox 1.5.

http://www.curiostudio.com/blog/8

.

rodeoclown
Posts: 79
Joined: Wed Aug 31, 2005 12:04 am

Postby rodeoclown » Sun Nov 27, 2005 11:15 pm

Hi, I used the feed your reader plugin for firefox, and it worked great the first time, asking me if I'd like to make greatNews the default reader for this protocol (the feed:// protocol) and it worked fine in greatnews.

Every time I try to use it now though I just get "GreatNews failed to initialize. No valid newsfeed.db was detected." even though I already have greatnews up and running fine.

any ideas as to how to fix this? As the combination of this plugin and GreatNews makes life really good :)

thanks in advance

gtanuel
Posts: 21
Joined: Wed Sep 14, 2005 12:47 am

Postby gtanuel » Mon Nov 28, 2005 3:48 am

I use the extension and Firefox 1.5, too, but find it to be more likely GreatNews bug than the browser/extension. To reproduce the problem:

1. Start -> Run "feed://test.test.com/test.xml"
2. Untick "Retrieve Channel Properties From Internet" and click Next
3. Click Cancel
4. Repeat from step 1, the error will appear

One more thing, GreatNews stores the feed URL with feed:// protocol. Since feed:// is actually just a pseudo-protocol of http://, I propose that GreatNews rename/replace the "feed://" with "http://". When the channels are exported to OPML and imported to other readers (in other machines), I reckon it will have less problem with "http://" than "feed://"

PS: just a reminder, if you decide to do this, you may want to 'upgrade' the DB to do one-time "feed:// to http://" replacement.

User avatar
Jack
Site Admin
Posts: 3472
Joined: Fri Feb 18, 2005 12:05 am

Postby Jack » Mon Nov 28, 2005 7:14 pm

several users reported similiar problems. I will take a look at what's going wrong.

gtanuel, it's a good idea to change all feed:// to http://. Next time when I need to update database I will put it in. In the mean time I will change export function to replace feed:// with http:// in next build. Thanks.

rodeoclown
Posts: 79
Joined: Wed Aug 31, 2005 12:04 am

Postby rodeoclown » Sun Dec 04, 2005 8:28 pm

Any idea as to why FeedYourReader isn't working?

User avatar
Jack
Site Admin
Posts: 3472
Joined: Fri Feb 18, 2005 12:05 am

Postby Jack » Sun Dec 04, 2005 11:48 pm

rodeoclown wrote:Any idea as to why FeedYourReader isn't working?


I haven't installed FF1.5 final release. I cannot reproduce the problem with FF1.07 though. I will upgrade as soon as FF prompts me to :)


Return to “Suggestions & Bug Reports”

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 11 guests