dissapearing feeds

Ideas? Suggestions?

Or report any bugs about GreatNews here

Moderators: justauser, MysteryFCM

B003
Posts: 9
Joined: Sun Jul 10, 2005 10:16 pm

dissapearing feeds

Postby B003 » Mon Aug 08, 2005 8:22 pm

I was recntly notified to download the new version, which I did, but when I used it my news feeds dissapeared. However I swithced back to the older version and they were there. As long as there is no radical change I more than satisfied with what I've got ver 1.0.0.315 :D

User avatar
Jack
Site Admin
Posts: 3472
Joined: Fri Feb 18, 2005 12:05 am

Postby Jack » Mon Aug 08, 2005 8:34 pm

Can you check if you can see the missing feeds in "Edit->Find Subscribed Channels"? Thanks.

B003
Posts: 9
Joined: Sun Jul 10, 2005 10:16 pm

Postby B003 » Mon Aug 08, 2005 8:48 pm

My feeds aren't there. However I did notice that when close the new one and double click the icon I get my old version back . Which is good for me.

User avatar
Jack
Site Admin
Posts: 3472
Joined: Fri Feb 18, 2005 12:05 am

Postby Jack » Mon Aug 08, 2005 8:55 pm

When you used the new version, does it displays only the default feeds? If that's case there might be two versions installed on your computer now.

Build 320 has an enhanced OnlineUpdater, which can download the installer version(setup_unicode.exe) or the zip version(greatnew_upgrade.zip).

B003
Posts: 9
Joined: Sun Jul 10, 2005 10:16 pm

Postby B003 » Mon Aug 08, 2005 9:14 pm

Nope still didn't work. I downloaded it then unzipped and installed it.

User avatar
Jack
Site Admin
Posts: 3472
Joined: Fri Feb 18, 2005 12:05 am

Postby Jack » Mon Aug 08, 2005 9:28 pm

Can you do a disk search on "GreatNews.exe" and check where is the executable? If you used the installer before, you can use the installer to upgrade. Or if you used zip version, you can unzip the GreatNews_Upgrade.zip to the same folder to upgrade. Please be careful DO NOT use the GreatNews.zip to upgrade, which will overwrite your feed subscriptions.

B003
Posts: 9
Joined: Sun Jul 10, 2005 10:16 pm

Postby B003 » Mon Aug 08, 2005 9:42 pm

Yeah, I think we were headed in the same direction. I found the original installation then copied and pasted it in the older folder. It seems to work okay. :D

User avatar
Jack
Site Admin
Posts: 3472
Joined: Fri Feb 18, 2005 12:05 am

Postby Jack » Mon Aug 08, 2005 9:46 pm

Glad to know everything is fine. :D

B003
Posts: 9
Joined: Sun Jul 10, 2005 10:16 pm

dissapearing feeds

Postby B003 » Mon Oct 03, 2005 2:08 pm

I, ahem, have lost my feeds again. I am in the process of restoring them now, but I was wondering if there was a way to make it so I wouldn't have to worry about that. There are already feeds present when I upgrade that I didn't put there. Is there any way I can make mine permanent?

User avatar
Jack
Site Admin
Posts: 3472
Joined: Fri Feb 18, 2005 12:05 am

Re: dissapearing feeds

Postby Jack » Mon Oct 03, 2005 2:16 pm

B003 wrote:I, ahem, have lost my feeds again. I am in the process of restoring them now, but I was wondering if there was a way to make it so I wouldn't have to worry about that. There are already feeds present when I upgrade that I didn't put there. Is there any way I can make mine permanent?


The BY FAR no.1 complain I received is that channels disappeared after upgraded GreatNews. The 99% chance is users overwrote their data file by using GreatNews.zip instead of greatnews_upgrade.zip. I even thought about take away the zip version altogether because of this...

I'm going to do something in the next build so that there will be only one zip file, for both new installs and upgrades. Hope this will fix the channel disappear problem once and for all.


Return to “Suggestions & Bug Reports”

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 7 guests