images not loading with proxy

Ideas? Suggestions?

Or report any bugs about GreatNews here

Moderators: justauser, MysteryFCM

ichausi
Posts: 2
Joined: Fri May 26, 2006 12:32 am

images not loading with proxy

Postby ichausi » Fri May 26, 2006 12:36 am

hi,

i am using a proxy which i have configured within greatnews.
news are fetched correctly, but images are not working.

any idea?

thx
ichausi

User avatar
Jack
Site Admin
Posts: 3472
Joined: Fri Feb 18, 2005 12:05 am

Postby Jack » Tue May 30, 2006 7:47 am

Does it help if you restart GreatNews after config proxy?

ichausi
Posts: 2
Joined: Fri May 26, 2006 12:32 am

Postby ichausi » Tue May 30, 2006 8:14 am

no, it does not help!

alexd
Posts: 1
Joined: Mon Aug 07, 2006 3:26 am

Postby alexd » Mon Aug 07, 2006 3:33 am

Hi there,

First congratulations ! I really like GreatNews and i already adopted it as my new RSS reader.

I'm having the same problem (using the version 1.0.0.370). Images do not load when using proxy.. Any idea when this issue can be fixed ?

Thanx,
Alex

User avatar
Jack
Site Admin
Posts: 3472
Joined: Fri Feb 18, 2005 12:05 am

Postby Jack » Tue Aug 08, 2006 7:45 am

hmmm. I will try to fix it. The difficulty is to simulate an environment to test

rprimrose
Posts: 27
Joined: Tue Oct 03, 2006 7:35 pm
Contact:

Postby rprimrose » Sun Dec 03, 2006 6:33 pm

I get this problem as well with version 1.0.0.376. Ocassionally I get images after waiting for quite a while, but usually they just don't get displayed.

I just checked it with Fiddler when GreatNews displays the post from http://blogs.msdn.com/trobbins/archive/ ... n-iis.aspx. The response for each image in the post is HTTP/1.0 304 Not Modified apart from the aggbug image which is HTTP/1.0 200 OK.

rprimrose
Posts: 27
Joined: Tue Oct 03, 2006 7:35 pm
Contact:

Postby rprimrose » Sun Dec 03, 2006 6:47 pm

I cleared my IE cache and ran the test again. Fiddler reports 200 for every image (and is able to display them itself), but GreatNews still doesn't display the images.

User avatar
Jack
Site Admin
Posts: 3472
Joined: Fri Feb 18, 2005 12:05 am

Postby Jack » Mon Dec 04, 2006 9:43 am

I just tried the feed it seems working? The images are slow to load, but it's the same when I tried in FF?

waulok
Posts: 1
Joined: Mon Jan 15, 2007 6:26 pm

Postby waulok » Mon Jan 15, 2007 6:29 pm

I have the exact same issue, but it's not just GreatNews.
I've downloaded about 4 different RSS readers in the last two days and only 1 can display images via proxy. In fact, if I hit HELP : Visit GreatNews Forum the page tries to come up in GN but fails as well. I have to open it in a separate browser window.
RSSReader can display the images correctly but I like the way GN works a lot better, so it would be nice if it did work.
In fact, in RssReader, it has the proxy username and password in the Tools:Options window but if you come across windows you have to type them both back in again before it starts to download images. Don't know if this helps the GN developers?

rprimrose
Posts: 27
Joined: Tue Oct 03, 2006 7:35 pm
Contact:

Postby rprimrose » Thu Mar 15, 2007 4:23 pm

Hope I'm not flogging a dead horse here, but I have found a new behaviour with images not being displayed because of the proxy. If I read a post that has images which aren't displayed in GN, then click on the post link to view it in the browser, then Ctrl+R in GN, when the post reloads, the images are displayed.

User avatar
Jack
Site Admin
Posts: 3472
Joined: Fri Feb 18, 2005 12:05 am

Postby Jack » Thu Mar 15, 2007 5:45 pm

rprimrose wrote:Hope I'm not flogging a dead horse here, but I have found a new behaviour with images not being displayed because of the proxy. If I read a post that has images which aren't displayed in GN, then click on the post link to view it in the browser, then Ctrl+R in GN, when the post reloads, the images are displayed.


Thanks for the information. I think the behavior you are seeing is IE cached the images and then GreatNews was able to retrieve it from cache.

rprimrose
Posts: 27
Joined: Tue Oct 03, 2006 7:35 pm
Contact:

Postby rprimrose » Thu Mar 15, 2007 11:42 pm

Yep, that would be it, but why is GN not able to get the images in the first place? Jack, I'm happy to run a special test build if you want additional trace/debug info.

bivy
Posts: 1
Joined: Wed Sep 12, 2007 4:19 am
Contact:

Re: images not loading with proxy

Postby bivy » Wed Sep 12, 2007 4:26 am

I have local proxy at 127.0.0.1:3140

With my firewall I find out that images loading from 0.0.0.1:3140

Hope it will help

fcmk
Posts: 14
Joined: Sat May 19, 2007 5:57 pm

Re: images not loading with proxy

Postby fcmk » Mon Mar 22, 2010 5:31 pm

I'm sorry to bring back such an old thread, but this bug doesn't seem to be fixed yet. At least I can't see images when using a proxy localhost:8118.
I bumped this so it could be fixed when GreatNews goes open source. (And that'll be like, anyday now! :roll: )


Return to “Suggestions & Bug Reports”

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 3 guests