New Items Popup Timer Not Working

Ideas? Suggestions?

Or report any bugs about GreatNews here

Moderators: justauser, MysteryFCM

wyldphyre
Posts: 21
Joined: Fri Mar 31, 2006 8:35 am

New Items Popup Timer Not Working

Postby wyldphyre » Mon Apr 03, 2006 8:32 am

I'm not sure if anyone else is seeing this problem, but I've noticed that although I have set the New Items popup to go away after 15 seconds, it never seems to go away unless I click on it.

User avatar
Jack
Site Admin
Posts: 3472
Joined: Fri Feb 18, 2005 12:05 am

Postby Jack » Tue Apr 04, 2006 7:44 am

I tried on build 366 but didn't find any problem. When you set it to 15 seconds, did the popup timer show 15 seonds or 60 seconds?

wyldphyre
Posts: 21
Joined: Fri Mar 31, 2006 8:35 am

Postby wyldphyre » Tue Apr 04, 2006 8:31 am

I can't remember exactly, but it was definitely longer than 15 seconds. It may have disappeared after 60 seconds, but I can't remember. I'll keep an eye on it, and let you know if I get some more concrete info.

wyldphyre
Posts: 21
Joined: Fri Mar 31, 2006 8:35 am

Postby wyldphyre » Tue Apr 04, 2006 9:01 am

ok, it just popped up again a few minutes ago, and I left it and timed it. It was reporting 2 new articles, and 2 failed channels. It stayed up for about 70 (timed with my watch) seconds before I closed it myself.

I can't remember for sure, it might work sometimes, but the times that I can remember it definitely doesn't seem to close when it should.

this is with build 364.

wyldphyre
Posts: 21
Joined: Fri Mar 31, 2006 8:35 am

Postby wyldphyre » Wed Apr 05, 2006 7:22 am

A little more info that might be useful. I timed the popup again just now, and after waiting for a minute, I moved the mouse over the popup, and was just about to click the "x" button to close the popup, when it closed on it's own, before I could click it.

The timing involved would have been for about 75 seconds, which is the 15 seconds I have set, and the 60 seconds that you asked me about. Perhaps there is a bug that means it waits 60 seconds + what ever the user has configured?

this might explain the behaviour I think I just saw.

User avatar
Jack
Site Admin
Posts: 3472
Joined: Fri Feb 18, 2005 12:05 am

Postby Jack » Thu Apr 06, 2006 8:04 pm

I didn't seem to have this problem? When mouse cursor is in the popup, the counter is reset. But this is by design.

wyldphyre
Posts: 21
Joined: Fri Mar 31, 2006 8:35 am

Postby wyldphyre » Fri Apr 07, 2006 4:34 am

hmmm. Well after trying to see some pattern to it, about all I can say at this point it that with build 364 on my machine, the time seems to vary a lot. Some times is does seem to go away at roughly the correct time, and others its takes a little longer, and still othe times take a lot longer.

Maybe it will sort itself out in te next version :)


Return to “Suggestions & Bug Reports”

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 11 guests