Page 1 of 2

1.0 Build 363

Posted: Mon Feb 20, 2006 10:34 pm
by Jack
+Added: Channel->Rename(F2) to rename a channel/group/watch/label directly on the tree.
+Added: Label tree nodes now show total number of items with the label.
+Added: If a channel/group has labelled items, GreatNews now warns user twice before deleting it. (Thanks gardenia)
+Added: CTRL+S to save current web page
+Added: Serbian language pack (Thank you very much Djurasinovic!)
-Fixed: When reloading modified items, GreatNews may mark wrong item unread if the feed has no valid guid (Thanks SteveAgl)
-Fixed: GreatNews shows minimize-to-tray animation regardless Windows setting (Thanks flock)

http://www.curiostudio.com/nightly0

Posted: Tue Feb 21, 2006 8:15 am
by flock
always better!!! ;)

Posted: Tue Feb 21, 2006 10:07 am
by Jack
I just reposted build 363 to fix a small bug.

-Fixed: "Channel->Refresh unread count" keeps increasing label counts.

http://www.curiostudio.com/nightly0

Posted: Tue Feb 21, 2006 9:31 pm
by wormeyman
+Added: Channel->Rename(F2) to rename a channel/group/watch/label directly on the tree.

THANKS i remember asking for this :D


stupid suggestion:

instead of "incompatible data file found" make it less scary i think each time i see that that i lost my feeds he he. It's small and stupid but just an opinion i'm not too worried about it.

Posted: Wed Feb 22, 2006 12:37 am
by isaacg
Found a bug: when i click on a channel with unread items, click on All News Channels, then click on any channel, the first channel i clicked has all its items marked read. At least for me. I can click around all i want and not have this happen, if i avoid clicking on All News Channels.

Posted: Wed Feb 22, 2006 8:21 am
by Jack
wormeyman wrote:instead of "incompatible data file found" make it less scary i think each time i see that that i lost my feeds he he. It's small and stupid but just an opinion i'm not too worried about it.


Any suggestions on the wording? English is not my native language...

Posted: Wed Feb 22, 2006 8:26 am
by Jack
isaacg wrote:Found a bug: when i click on a channel with unread items, click on All News Channels, then click on any channel, the first channel i clicked has all its items marked read. At least for me. I can click around all i want and not have this happen, if i avoid clicking on All News Channels.


There are several options that can mark read during channel switching. But it shouldn't matter "All News Channels" selected or not. If you want I can take a look at your newsfeed.ini file, then I can learn what should happen according to your settings.

Posted: Wed Feb 22, 2006 8:28 am
by Jack
I just reposted build 363 to fix a bug:

-Fixed: a bug brough in by 363 that deleting a channel may mess up unread count. (Thanks wormeyman)

http://www.curiostudio.com/nightly0

Posted: Wed Feb 22, 2006 10:58 am
by jiminy
GreatNews wrote:
wormeyman wrote:instead of "incompatible data file found" make it less scary i think each time i see that that i lost my feeds he he. It's small and stupid but just an opinion i'm not too worried about it.


Any suggestions on the wording? English is not my native language...


how about "Database update required"

Posted: Wed Feb 22, 2006 10:59 am
by jiminy
i tried the installer for this build (upgrading from build 360) but i had the same problem as when i tried to upgrade to build 362.

i.e i get the error message saying table feed2 already exists when it tries to update the database.

Posted: Wed Feb 22, 2006 1:42 pm
by rodeoclown
Why not just automatically update the database (save a backup first - like greatnews.db.1.0.4 or whatever).

Then you don't frighten anyone, and no-one is going to NOT update their database and if it screws up for some bizarre reason (unlikely) then they have the old db sitting there. Each time you update you can probably delete the old backup db.

My 2c.

Posted: Wed Feb 22, 2006 3:41 pm
by wormeyman
jiminy wrote:how about "Database update required"


Yeah that sounds good to me

Posted: Tue Feb 28, 2006 1:00 am
by isaacg
GreatNews wrote:There are several options that can mark read during channel switching. But it shouldn't matter "All News Channels" selected or not. If you want I can take a look at your newsfeed.ini file, then I can learn what should happen according to your settings.


Did you get my files by email or discover anything about this bug?

Posted: Tue Feb 28, 2006 7:50 pm
by Jack
isaacg wrote:Did you get my files by email or discover anything about this bug?


Yes I received your files. Sorry for the late response. I haven't got a chance to try them out.

Posted: Thu Mar 02, 2006 10:58 pm
by Guilap
isaacg wrote:Found a bug: when i click on a channel with unread items, click on All News Channels, then click on any channel, the first channel i clicked has all its items marked read. At least for me. I can click around all i want and not have this happen, if i avoid clicking on All News Channels.


I have the same problem in build 364 and found another user with this problem in 363 in this post:
http://www.curiostudio.com/forum/viewtopic.php?t=1178